Skip navigation
JackSparrow
Currently Being Moderated

Reading adobe help is like reading a bible

Oct 11, 2013 10:15 AM

Hi,  OK, I am new to adobe illustrator, but I have experience with photoshop elements 9, I worked and got paid for using CAD Accumark Gerber system to draft apparel technical patterns when I had no clue how to use that software but it was easy to follow the system onboard help menu.  I am studying Adobe Illustrator by myself with a book.  I am stuck, the menu Help is written like a bible, just technical language, no image, no example. We are not all geekies and experts here.  Please Adobe! be more user friendly in your Help guides.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 11, 2013 10:19 AM   in reply to JackSparrow

What SPECIFICALLY are you trying to do? Include operating system and version of Illustrator. (This is a group of helpful users, I don't know if Adobe actually reads this.)

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 11, 2013 11:38 AM   in reply to JackSparrow

A book is a great way to learn, which one did you get?

Adobe has a classroom in a book series, which I avoided for years because the examples looked so poorly designed, but having after taught the courses I found the content to be better than expected.

There are plenty of image son the onliune help, but it does appear from a recent post on the forusm btu Adobe taht they want to go with even less words in the future and more icons/images.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 11, 2013 3:58 PM   in reply to Mike Gondek

....... random comment about how the help files don't include fantastical stories about a magical zombie...... Wish they did, might make them more entertaining.

Get the Classroom in a Book. Get any of the "Illustrator Wow" books... read online tutrials... all will be way more help than the help files. I honestly haven't see any question where the help files were better than a 2 minute Google search unless you get into the more advanced features like variables and scripting.

|
    Mark as: