Skip navigation
Psychophage
Currently Being Moderated

Semi-transparent block, pure black and rich black problems

Oct 20, 2013 7:48 AM

Hi!

I'm new to inDesign, and I'm currently designing a book cover, for which I need some special effects. I'll try to explain as best as I can.

The background is rich black, on top of it I have a text in white (all over it). I applied a block with 80% opacity, in rich black color. I cut out some shapes in it. The point was to have the text in dark gray all over the book cover, but in white in the places where I have the shapes.

Everything is working exactly like I want, but a friend of mine told me if I apply rich black over white, I'll get a kind of magenta gray, so I have to apply pure 100 K to avoid that and get the dark gray I want. I tried that, and of course, applying some pure black block on top of my rich black cover gives all the cover a "grayish black" look. How can I work around that? I tried setting my semi-transparent block to "darken", but it didn't change anything.

I put the links to the pdf, I hope that's ok.

That's the one with rich black: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/68049919/coverlayout_print_richbla ck.pdf

and that's how it looks with the pure black: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/68049919/coverlayout_print.pdf

Thanks a lot!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 20, 2013 8:14 AM   in reply to Psychophage

What's wrong with a slightly warm gray? Your "solid" righ black is a bit heavy on the magenta, too, for a true neutral.

I don't see a problem, myself.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 20, 2013 8:31 AM   in reply to Psychophage

In the gray it's 40/32/24/80, which is 80% of the original mix., As far as lowering the magenta, doe it look too warm to you now? It looks fine to me.

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 20, 2013 1:10 PM   in reply to Psychophage