Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Aspect Ratio problems

Oct 21, 2013 4:35 AM

Hello there

I am making a short film with Adobe After Effects CS4 and Adobe Premiere Elements 9, I am relatively new to After Effects and I need a little help

I have edited footage in Premiere that I wish to colour-correct in After Effects, so I export the footage from Premiere with these settings:

elements 1.jpg

elements 2.jpg

The aspect ratio is 1440x1080

Once the footage is exported, it looks like this when played (this is the desired aspect ratio):

should.jpg

So I import this file into After Effects CS4 and put into a composition with these settings:

effects 1.png

I do my colour correction, then render with these settings:

effects 2.jpg

Both the composition and render settings have the aspect ratio at 1440x1080, but when I render out the video and play it, it looks like this:

does.jpg

All squished up, and I have no idea how to change it.

I have tried tinkering with a couple of settings on the After Effects composition, changing the Pixel Aspect Ratio to 'Square Pixels', and locking the aspect ratio, but nothing has changed. I have tried rendering the raw footage (Not edited/exported in Premiere) through After Effects and it does the same thing.

I am new to the products and the forums so hopefully the pics have enough information for you guys to help. I can provide more info/pics on the settings I am using if needed.

Thank you very much!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 21, 2013 3:43 AM   in reply to Fired Apple Sause.

You didn't show us your output module settings.

Here's probably what is going on. First, you are confusing aspect ratio and pixel aspect ratio. Aspect ratio is the ratio of the height of a frame to the widh. Pixel aspect ratio an artificial number that allows you to put fewer pixels into a frame. This lowers the data rate and the resolution. They have nothing to do with each other. Let me clarify.