Skip navigation
His Productions
Currently Being Moderated

Find Bits Per Sample?

Oct 24, 2013 10:12 AM

Again...I'm new to the Mac version of this software.

Where can I find the bits per sample for an MP3 in AA cs6?

I tried in the Finder and in AA cs6???Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 1.09.59 PM.pngScreen Shot 2013-10-24 at 1.08.56 PM.png

Replies
  • SteveG(AudioMasters)
    5,602 posts
    Oct 26, 2006
    Oct 24, 2013 12:14 PM   in reply to His Productions

His Productions wrote:

Where can I find the bits per sample for an MP3 in AA cs6?

Er, you don't...

And this is for two reasons; firstly, MP3 is a compressed medium and uses variable sample depths as part of the masking mechanism. Bits considered to be inaudible are encoded at much reduced depth - it's called a 'coding gain' and how the compression is achieved. The lower the rate, the more compression there is and the worse it sounds. So there is no 'bit depth' as such, although notionally, it's supposedly 16 for the non-compressed sections I believe.

Secondly, when you open an MP3 in Audition, it's decoded to the software's native format - wav. And that would be at whatever you've set it to open MP3 files at; notionally 16 bit int (as above), but I believe that Audition will decode them quite happily as 32-bit Floating Point as well.

This isn't the same as the sample rate - that's got everything to do with either improving or wrecking the sound by limiting the speed at which slices of sound are cut up by the encoder to be worked on, and then spat out the other end. And, all of this is a simplified explanation of what happens in an MP3; the actual detail is pretty complex.

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 5:08 AM   in reply to His Productions

Well, as Steve points out, your solution has to come before you open the file in Audition since, once Audition has opened it, it's no long MP3--it's uncompressed .wav.