Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Pixels only...

Oct 24, 2013 4:14 PM

Tags: #feature_request #indesign #measurements #pixel_perfect #snap_to_pixel

I have a grid which is 1px by 1px, with 1 subdivisions. I'd have thought that this would allow me to create and move objects on the page which always fell on numbers, not integers... i.e. 4px, not 4.309px.

As a UI designer, I'd never, ever have a div be set to 4.309px. Everything is rounded up. Since InDesign is so intent on being web-friendly, I'd have thought that this most basic of needs would be covered. Can I suggest, if there is no solution to this by other forum readers, that Adobe consider an option to the lines of "Intent: Print or Digital" and then guys like me can design away happier than ever.

It can't be that hard. Photoshop is doing it already, and recent versions even have the "Align Edges" option for vector shapes.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 12:50 AM   in reply to therealrgbk

Do you have: View > Grids & Guides > Snap to Document Grid on?

Also usefull to make sure that your lines fall on the whole pixels.

By default a line is aligned to the centre of the stroke, causing it to cover 2 half pixels.

If you want to change that behaviour for the open document, make sure you have nothing selected and choose either Align Stroke to the Inside or Outside from the Stroke panel.

If you want that behaviour for all new documents:

Close all documents, select a stroke of 1 pt and change the Align in the stroke panel.

|
    Mark as:
  • Rob Day
    3,126 posts
    Oct 16, 2007
    Oct 25, 2013 7:34 AM   in reply to therealrgbk

There are a couple of things you have to do if you want  to draw and position objects as whole numbers.