Skip navigation
kcookcreative
Currently Being Moderated

Irregular spaces after pasting in ID

Oct 25, 2013 7:56 AM

Tags: #spacing #cs6" #formatting_error #pasting_text

When I copy text from either Word or Text Editor into ID, there are irregular spaces between sentences throughout the 200 page document.

I am a newbie to ID, but I have been trying a multitude of things to fix this...and still have the problem. Can someone please help?

(A little background...the person who sent me these files, sent them in individual emails in which I had to copy and paste in Word. They inserted spaces, returns, etc. manually.)

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 8:02 AM   in reply to kcookcreative

Use Find/Change. At the top of the Find/Change dialog, see the Query: menu for useful preset operations to solve your problems; namely Multiple Return to Single Return, Multiple Space to Single Space, and perhaps Remove Trailing Whitespace

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 25, 2013 8:43 AM   in reply to kcookcreative

If that's the case, then you're either describing the problem wrongly, or you're missing/missetting a piece of the Find/Change operation. Be sure the Search: menu is set to Document.

Tip: When you try something that doesn't appear to work, to get help with it, it's best if you elaborate more. What happened when you tried? In detail; what exactly did you do, and what exactly was the result?

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 25, 2013 8:45 AM   in reply to kcookcreative

Can you post a screen shot that shows the problem?

|
    Mark as:
  • Rob Day
    3,126 posts
    Oct 16, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 25, 2013 10:22 AM   in reply to kcookcreative

If the text is justified the paragraph Hyphenation and Justification settings will determine the word spacing.

The same text with different settings:

Screen Shot 2013-10-25 at 1.21.38 PM.png

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 25, 2013 4:53 PM   in reply to kcookcreative

kcookcreative wrote: