Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Adobe InDesign CS5.5 Has Stopped Working

Nov 2, 2013 7:33 AM

Hello,

I am new to InDesign as have been using PageMaker for years.

I have just installed a Trial Version of CS 5.5 and am trying to open an InDesign document which was created by my friend. InDesign crashed when trying to open the document, it gave me the following error messages:

C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Temp\WER732E.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Temp\WER8BFC.tmp.appcompat.txt

C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Temp\WER8F95.tmp.mdmp

I have no idea what do these error messages mean. I have tried several times and the same messages came up.

And now, when I opened CS5.5, it gave me the error messages right away. The only differences of the errors are the WER numbers.

Any suggestions/comments are much appreciated.

Thank you.

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 2, 2013 7:45 AM   in reply to silkphoenix12

You haven't really given us an error message, but most versions of Windows don't provide anything useful, anyway.

The files you list are all temporary files, possibly created by ID as it starts up. It's pretty hard to know why the file is failing from that, however.

First thing you need to do is empty the InDesign Recovery folder. It should be in C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Local\Adobe\InDesign\Version 7.5\<langauge>\caches\

That should allow you to start ID normally. Can you create a new file, save, and reopen it? If so, the problem is most likely the other file, and one possibility is a bad font. If not, ig may be program related, and a place to start would be with killing SING. See SING Removal

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 2, 2013 8:26 AM   in reply to silkphoenix12

How did you receive the documents? If they were sent by email, were they zipped for protection?