Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Your Advise about editing talking heads/static/monotonous Videos

Nov 19, 2013 10:23 PM

Tags: #video #static #head #talking

you know the type of video, its a guy sitting in front of the camera talking for 10 minutes, how do I make it exciting (well sort of) and avoid boring the hell out of my viewers?

Im a beginner so Id love to read constructive criticism of my methods (and not so constructive , Im a big boy). I basically try to add b-roll material when possible, but a lot of the time isnt possible and I dont have a lot of clips to intercut, so Im lately using a lot of transitions after a spoken "paragraph" or subject has been exhausted. Since Ive been working mostly with camtasia, Im not really familiar with premiere and its transitions, and Im not a professional editor, so Im not sure if by inserting transitions every 10-15 seconds Im doing something wrong. Adding these transitions is the only way to add a bit of energy, movement and variety to the video if I dont have b-roll. Also which transitions would you recommend as an equivalent for a full stop?

What Im fearing is an unprofessional look, but if I try to keep it more polished, the result is an incredibly boring video. Whats your advise to make a talking head video exciting, and yet, professional looking too?

is there a sort of bible that talks about the finer points of editing these type of videos (the static videos of a person talking in front of a camera, IMO the most common ones) in premiere pro? a tutorial perhaps?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 20, 2013 12:11 AM   in reply to CptHatteras