Skip navigation
Handywally
Currently Being Moderated

Dreamweaver menu

Dec 5, 2013 3:02 AM

Hi, I am new to Dreamweaver. I will try to be brief but still get my question over. I have a template for every web page i create. This has one menu for all pages. All the sub menus will have another menu for each section, and within those sections will have another set of menues, all relevant to that section. (hope it is not too confusing) I have basically created a div tag with menu links. I am looking for a way to create a menu for one set of pages, and when i add another page to be able to link maybe to an external sheet which would have all the page links in it? something like css style sheets?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 5, 2013 11:17 AM   in reply to Handywally

You're looking at Server Side Includes. There are various ways of setting them up... it all depends on your hosting server... and a few other (minor) factors. Suggest you do a search for 'server side includes'. That'll point you to various options and alternatives.

Just to explain a bit and this relates to sites hosted on an Apache server:

1a. I don'tlike the .shtml extension (sometimes) required, so all my files are .html

1b. I, therefore, have this content in a file called .htaccess (please note, the file name is .htaccess - there is nothing, no name, in frant of the 'dot'. The file is in the root of the site (where your index.html file is located, and its contents are as follows:

Options +Includes

AddType text/html .html

AddHandler server-parsed .html

2a. I have all my server side include files in a common directory, with an individual file for each include that I need. The link to this is, for example, as follows:

<div id="mainMenu"> <!--#include virtual="_assets/_includes/mainmenu_index.ssi" --></div>

This, obviously, points to the SSI file for my main menu. Please note, the path is important

This one points to the footer content:

<div id="footer" class="footer">