Skip navigation
bedford falls
Currently Being Moderated

Table of Contents for objects?

Dec 12, 2013 9:20 AM

I am new to this so .... I am publishing a children's literature journal for individuals who work with children.  I have produced a Table of Contents using the layout feature in indesign cc.  Now I want to produce a table of contents for the children's illustrations (object styles not paragraph styles).  I have created a new paragraph style for those paragraphs that have greyscales anchored in them, but then the entire paragraph prints out in the table of content for each greyscale.  Any ideas?

Gary

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 12, 2013 10:03 AM   in reply to bedford falls

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 12, 2013 11:13 AM   in reply to bedford falls
    ...but then the entire paragraph prints out in the table of content for each greyscale.

Right, that's how it works. The paragraph style targeted should be styling whatever you would want as the Table of Figures entry. So, I don't know if/how you title or caption those illustrations, but you need to style those titles/captions with a paragraph style, then target that style for the table. If there is no visible title or caption, then add a text frame to the page, type in whatever you want to appear as the table entry, and give the text a fill of None.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 12, 2013 11:29 AM   in reply to bedford falls

Actaully, if what you are after is the image as the listing, it's pretty straightforward. Create a paragraph style to use as the key for the TOC, then crete a text frame and assign the new paragraph style. Anchor the image in this new frame as an inline anchored object, then anchor that frame in the running text wherever you want the illustration to appear.

What you have now is an anchored image nested inside an anchored text frame, and the TOC will pick up only the image.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 12, 2013 12:01 PM   in reply to bedford falls