Skip navigation
broman
Currently Being Moderated

Loss of quality when placing image

Dec 19, 2013 9:38 AM

Tags: #image #indesign #quality

First, I know similiar issues has been discussed here before. Ive read them, but I cant find what Im looking for.

Secondly, I have some experience with adobe and graphic design, so hopefully this isnt a basic error from my part

For some reason when I place an image in ID it looks kind of crappy. Jagged edges. I know it's just a preview and it can be set to 'high'. That isn't my problem. Problem is, when exporting ID-file, the PDF looks crappy too. I've tried with hi-res images (300dpi) and PDF:s (from my cad software, SolidWorks) but none of them looks good enough.

I got decent result when I scaled a huge image down considerly. But I could still see some jagged edges. Tomorrow Ill try with a Illustrator file and see if the problem somehow is related to Photoshop (Ive experienced some issues with PS before), but since my PDF:s dont look too good, I doubt I will see any diffrence.

When viewing on my iPhone or Ipad it looks much better, but still not good enough.

So, I have 2 questions. First why is ID behaving like this? And secondly, if this is how ID is supposed to work, how high quality must my images have?

Thanks.

I use ID 5.5

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 19, 2013 9:48 AM   in reply to broman

You get jagged edges when you have a slope. Whether the jaggies are visible depends on how small the steps are relative to the overall dimension. A 45 degree slope spread over 3 units will look like a set of stairs, but spread over 300 units it will probably look pretty smooth, especially if there is anti-aliasing.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 19, 2013 10:49 AM   in reply to broman