Skip navigation
AliPaterson
Currently Being Moderated

Publish a Dreamweaver designed Site to a Wordpress hosted Domain

Dec 20, 2013 1:25 PM

Tags: #dreamweaver #cs6 #wordpress #mamp #dreamweaver_cs6 #domain_name

Hi everyone, I'm very new to this, and been relying on some amazing YouTube tutorials out there!

I've come across a slight problem. I brought a domain name using Wordpress.com and have a rough blog there - very messy.

I've since redesigend the entire website on Dreamweaver CS6 (very proud!) and now have come up against a slight problem - I have no idea how to publish it to the domain name.

I've tried installing wordpress and using MAMP, but havn't been able to find a way at all and been unable to find anyone experiance a similar problem - leading me to belive I'm doing something stupid!

Any help would be very much apreciated!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 20, 2013 2:37 PM   in reply to AliPaterson

WordPress dot com is for hosting dynamic WP sites.

What you have in DW is most likely a static HTML site.

What is your goal:

1) get rid of WP?  (not sure if you can do that on WP.com)

2) make your new DW site work with WP?

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 20, 2013 3:57 PM   in reply to AliPaterson

In that case, you'll need to remove the WP .php files from your remote server and replace them with your .html files.  I recommend you contact WP.com to see if this is allowed.   I've never used them as a hosting provider but my impression is that they host nothing but WP sites.  If that's the case, you may need to find a different hosting provider and purchase a new domain name for your new web site.

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 20, 2013 7:13 PM   in reply to AliPaterson

AliPaterson wrote:

I've come across a slight problem. I brought a domain name using Wordpress.com and have a rough blog there - very messy.

OK it is pretty easy to do.