Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How to remove letter boxing?

Jan 24, 2014 4:41 PM

Tags: #premiere_pro #frames_size #frame_size #letter_boxing

I was given footage that was shot in 640x480, though the video is still in a widescreen format and has letter boxing. My boss would like to have just the video footage without the letter boxing at the top and bottom of the screen. How do I change the frame size of the clip so that only the video footage can be seen?

I am fairly new to the this and am learning by playing around with the software. I'm working with Premiere Pro.

Screen Shot 2014-01-24 at 4.38.02 PM.png

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 24, 2014 10:04 PM   in reply to rmbennett1526

The key is to create a sequence that's 16:9. File>New>Sequence, the select DV-NTSC>Widescreen 48kHz.

SeqPreset_DV-Wide.jpg

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 24, 2014 11:30 PM   in reply to Mark Mapes

I am uncomfortable suggesting that Mark is not correct, but it feels that way to me.

If the footage was originally 640X480 with square pixels, it seems to me that creating a sequence at 640X360 might work better for that footage. Don't the DV settings lock you in to non-square pixels and certain frame sizes?

In any case, I took a screen grab of the image, then resized it in Photoshop to 640X480 since that was the original size.

I then created a 640X360 custom sequence, using square pixels like this:

Capture2.PNG

When I dropped the 640X480 image, with the letterboxing on it, on the 640X360 sequence, I got this:

Capture3.PNG

Now, it just so happens, that 640X360 is a good size for a 16:9 image. Both numbers are evenly divisible by 8 which makes for neat macro blocks.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 25, 2014 12:40 AM   in reply to Steven L. Gotz