Skip navigation
T-Hans
Currently Being Moderated

Why can't I hear my video's audio?

Feb 14, 2014 2:33 PM

Tags: #problem #error #video #audio #premiere #playback #elements #volume #mute #12

I am new to Premiere Elements 12 and I don'tcknow what to do.  I recorded some footage using an Elgato Capture Card and I would like to edit it. The video is about 2 hours long.

Now I use to be able to her the audio but only for like 2 minutes but then it would go mute. Now I don't hear it at all.

HOWEVER when I use smaller videos (1-10 mins) I can hear it no problem,

WHAT DO I DO!?!?!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Feb 14, 2014 3:32 PM   in reply to T-Hans

Welcome to the forum.

First, a few questions please:

1. What OS version are you running PrE 12 on?
    2. What are the full specs. of the files from the El Gato Capture Card? If these are muxed (both a Video & Audio Stream in one file), please list the full specs. of both the Audio and the Video.
    3. When you Imported the El Gato files, did you allow Conforming to complete 100%. Failure to do so, is one of the main causes for Audio dropout, or truncated Audio. See this Tips & Tricks article: http://forums.adobe.com/message/3892177#3892177

Good luck, and please let us know more.

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 14, 2014 4:11 PM   in reply to T-Hans

That Conforming is stopping at 6-7% is likely causing what you are observing.

What is the total Duration of that AV file?

As Conforming writes the CFA and PEK files to the HDD (Hard Disk Drive), in the location that you direct it, do you have adequate free-space in that location?

Good luck, and thank you for that information.

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 14, 2014 4:13 PM   in reply to Bill Hunt