Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How does a RemoteObject find its destination?

Jul 11, 2008 11:22 AM

I am new to Flex. I am a long time Java/C++/C developer so my head won't explode if we get technical.

I am trying to figure out how a RemoteObject finds it's destination with just a simple reference as "SomeDestId" configured on BlazeDS the app server.

From the client side I am used to getting a reference to some Registry like JNDI or whatever by stating which host and port to use or a URI or something more absolute. I am aware that the flash player has a sandbox so we can dispense with the host, we know what it has to be. But my question is. How does the swf file or the context of the flex app know where my BlazeDS is rooted in my J2EE app server if I don't tell it?

What am I missing? I have looked at the example code and have read the developer pdf but nobody talks about this.

Does BlazeDS start listing on a well known port other than the application server's port?

If not how is my flex program supposed to know what port BlazeDS is on?

Anyone know how this automagic works? Because I can't find it in the docs.

Does my SWF file need to be deployed from within the BlazeDS deployment if so I have missed where in the documentation this is stated.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 11, 2008 11:44 AM   in reply to (Jason_A._Adams)
    When you configure BlazeDS, you define endpoints (in services-config.xml) where you indicate which url the SWF needs to use to contact BlazeDS. Then you usually compile the MXML into SWF using the services-config.xml. As this point, SWF knows what URL to use contact the server.

The new LCDS 2.6 (which is a superset of BlazeDS) documentation has information on this:

http://livedocs.adobe.com/livecycle/8.2/programLC/programmer/lcds/buil d_apps_4.html

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 11, 2008 12:19 PM   in reply to (Jason_A._Adams)