Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

AMT Subsystem Failure Error is Ridiculous!

Nov 9, 2007 8:24 AM

So, I finally decided to purchase my very own copy of CS3 several months ago (about 6) after using CS2 at work for a number of years. I figured it would be a good time to get it since I am a college student right now so I qualified for the academic version (an old one, having gone back after many years out, but a college student none-the-less...LOL!) It has been nothing but problems since I got it! I never experienced anything like this with Adobe Product before and I have been using them for over 20 year (all the way back to Aldus Pagemaker even!)

It worked great for about 4 months, not a problem at all, then all of the sudden I started getting this stupid AMT failure message:

AMT Subsystem Failure
The licensing subsystem has failed catastrophically. You must reinstall or call customer support.

I tried calling support (outsourced support obviously, as they were VERY hard to understand on the phone and I talked to no less than three different people). Removed and reinstalled only to have it creep back up over and over again. I got sick of removing and reinstalling it and since Adobe was no help at all started troubleshooting and logging the problem.

Could this be a RAM issue? My dual core desktop iMac is maxed out, so if it is there is nothing more I can do. :(

Basically, when I start the machine I can open all my CS programs first, before any other programs (AI, ID, PS, DW, and Acrobat). I am pretty much good to go and can then open all my other programs and begin working for the day. But, if one of the CS3 programs stalls on me, which seems to happen daily, causing me to force quit it. It will not longer open and gives me the error message above.