Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Feather an Elipse with a Transparent Background

Mar 18, 2007 12:38 PM

I'm still new at this, need a bit of help. I'm using Photoshop Elements 5, (and Windows Vista OS). I'm want to take a photo, put an ellipse around it, loose the remaining background (to transparent I think) and fade (or feather) the edges of the ellipse. I want to put this photo on top of another one, so that their both visible, and kinda "blend" together. To be more specific, the "background" is a full picture of my car, and the photo "on top" will be a blended in ellipse of the engine. Thanks for your help!!! Neil

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 18, 2007 3:27 PM   in reply to (Neil_Pine)
    Neil,
    Is this the effect you are trying to achieve?

http://www.pixentral.com/show.php?picture=1exE1wxsEZn5nFzNHXSlJZs0L5lQ Q0

1. Open the engine picture and rename the Background layer to anything else. This is necessary for step 4.
    2. Draw an ellipse around the engine using the Elliptical Marquee tool.
    3. Invert the selection, and feather it. In my example I feathered 50 px.
    4. Delete the selection, so that the ellipse is left on transparent background.
    5. Copy this to the car picture, creating a new layer. Use the Move tool to reposition and resize the engine. You might want to lower the opacity of the engine layer so that the car shows through.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 18, 2007 5:49 PM   in reply to (Neil_Pine)
    Neil,
    I can't explain the "rectangle". Does it show when you do steps 1-4 or does it show only after the engine layer is placed in the car picture, or both? It would help if you can save your result as a jpg and upload it to pixentral for us to see (include its url in your message).

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 19, 2007 4:42 AM   in reply to Mark Sand
    Neil,
    The feathering may be too strong and / or the ellipse is too close to the
    edge of the original photo of the engine. In that case the feathering never