Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How can I create my own DVD menu templates for Premiere Elements 7

Apr 11, 2009 10:54 AM

I am a software developer. I say this because I want to establish that I am completely capable of programming software at a level well beyond the normal "user." I would like to develop my own DVD menu templates for use with Premiere Elements 7. What tool(s) do I need to achieve this?

More importantly, why doesn't PE7 support this ability? I ask because other movie making software I've tested do provide ways to create custom DVD menus from scratch. (and have more than just one default template to customize) I won't mention the competitor's name for fear of censorship of this entire thread.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 11, 2009 12:13 PM   in reply to CodeDreamer68

You will want to get Adobe Photoshop. If you're going to do this at any level, I'd suggest the full PS, and not PS Elements, as there are some things (Layer Masks, for example), where PS Elements doesn't have. PS Elements can do most of the things that you would like to do, but then kinda' runs out of tricks.

The reason that PE7 does not offer Menu editing, is that PSE is often bundled with it.

I would strongly advise that you make a copy of several of the Menu Templates and work on those copies. Notice the Button Layer Sets in these Templates, as that will be what you will need to create. The naming conventions are extremely important. They MUST be used for any Template.