Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Convert MTS without Losing Quality

Apr 11, 2009 11:31 AM

Hello.  I'm somewhat new to using Premier Elements, and I'm looking for a way to convert the MTS files off of my Sony HD video camera without losing any quality.  The playback is just for my PC.  I do some streaming, so a WMV solution would be best for me, but if MPEG or AVI will work better, I'm open.

I've tried many of the default presets, and I've tried tweaking settings as well, but none of the final files have the same quality of the original MTS file.  Does anyone have any experience with this, or any suggestions?

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 11, 2009 3:04 PM   in reply to Dan-C

When you say "Sony HD video camera" do you mean hard drive  or hi-definition camcorder?

Also, there are a number of formats for either, so if you can tell us which model of camcorder you're using, we can tell you how to proceed.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 11, 2009 5:20 PM   in reply to Dan-C

That's a tough one, Dan. AVCHD files are highly compressed hi-def video files and are some of the most challenging to edit. Most of the people who've been able to work with them in Premiere Elements are using quad-core computers with 4 gigs of RAM and many gigabytes of hard drive space!

One possible solution is a convertor program that sells for about $40. We talk about it in the FAQs to the right of this forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/390605?tstart=0

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 13, 2009 4:38 PM   in reply to Dan-C

Export them from PE7 using HDV MPEG2 format. I find this gives good quality for both playback on a PC (not so demanding on computer resources as AVCHD) and also good for editing. Use the 1080i MPEG2 preset and up the bitrate to 25Mb/s.

|
    Mark as:
    May 8, 2009 5:18 PM   in reply to Dan-C

How do you get the .MTS files into premiere.  I have the same camera...

|
    Mark as:
    May 8, 2009 10:58 PM   in reply to videostart