Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How do I crop an image from CS4 Illustrator for use in Dreamweaver?

Apr 16, 2009 5:21 PM

I have designed in Illustrator for years but I am fairly new to working with Dreamweaver.

I would like to cut part of an image from an Illustrator design to use as a background in a Dreamweaver design:

- How is this done?

- Is there a better way?

Thanks,

Mark

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 16, 2009 9:41 PM   in reply to A1 Leasing

There are several ways for instance if you hold the shift key while you have the artboard tool selected and then drag over the area of the art you want to be cropped for use on the web, then you can simply save for web and device and that active area will be the only area selected and saved.

You can also with this technique use this artboard when using the file as a smart object in Dreamweaver no need then to save for the web and if you make changes you will access that through Dreamweaver which will open the smart object file in Illustrator for you to edit. This is a very good way of doing things. Probably the easiest and best way.

The other ways would be to make a clipping mask of the area you want and either do a save for the web or again bring it into Dreamweaver as a smart object.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 22, 2009 12:54 PM   in reply to A1 Leasing

Well yes and no hold the shift key click down with the artboard tool let go of the shift key and while the mouse is still in the down position drag to make a new artboard of any dimension and proportion.

Oh I almost forgot they did not implement smart objects for Illustrator perfect!

But you can do this with an artboard as I wrote originally I am thinking since you can bring an Illustrator file in as a smart object into Photoshop and a Photoshop file into Dreamweaver as a smart object it should be possible to combine the two.

Haven't tried it yet but might be worth the try.

It should work.