Skip navigation
GranburyTeach
Currently Being Moderated

Performance vs. Security

Apr 23, 2009 12:04 PM

I am a high school Media Tech teacher with a CS4 lab.  Each computer has  2G Ram/ 50G HD and yet producing our 5-7 minutes announcements each morning has become a major pain.  The computer freezes OFTEN.  I monitor the students closely (ok I'm pretty much sitting next to them as they edit these days) and cannot tell that they are doing anything out of the ordinary.   I highly suspect our technology gestapo of installing some type of security program that is not compatible with the CS4.  (It did take them more than 2 months to realize the computer had to have a local profile in order to work)

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 23, 2009 12:18 PM   in reply to GranburyTeach

Get the IT staff to give each of your users full administrative rights. It may give them the creeps, but it is the best way to accomplish anything. It does not hurt system integrity for those who have only good intentions as students should. If hackers can easily steal terrabytes of secret and sensitive data about the JSF from the Pentagon, who cares about a school?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 23, 2009 1:25 PM   in reply to GranburyTeach

In the User Account settings you can give full administrative rights. It has the benefit that PP has access to everything it needs. OK, security is compromised, but if you are sitting next to your students, what are the risks? Generally PP works better with full administrative rights than with more limited access rights.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 23, 2009 3:15 PM   in reply to GranburyTeach

Is the "50G HD" a typo? Even with just Windows XP and PrPro on the system, a lot has to be fit onto one HDD and such a small one, at that. Plus, you have PrPro and Windows trying to read/write to the same disc at once. This could be especially troubling, if there is some IT snooper program working, plus say Windows Indexing.