Skip navigation
monto5
Currently Being Moderated

Pick color from gradient stop

Jul 11, 2009 1:27 PM

Hi,

I am an absolute beginner with Illustrator and have spent the last few days experimenting. At some point I created a box with a gradient using a random color and would now like to figure out which color exactly I used on the end stop of the gradient.

I attached the sample to this post, you will notice that the smaller box on the black square has the gradient. If I select the darker stop (e.g. from the gradient panel) and then check in the color panel it says that it is black (RGB: 000), but as compared to the black square in the background it clearly isn't black.

I suppose I could just save the file as an image and then pick the color from with Photoshop, but it seems like there should be a way from within Illustrator?

Anyone can help explain how to do this or what is going on?

Thanks

Stefan

PS:

I am using CS4 on a Mac.

Attachments:

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 11, 2009 1:34 PM   in reply to monto5

Can't see the queued file...

...but its possible you've got an RGB 000 stop over a 100%k or a C40M0Y0K100 background. They will look different. Or opacity settings may be altering the appearance.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 11, 2009 1:40 PM   in reply to monto5

Your attachment is unavailable. The Attachment feature of the forum is a waste of time and effort. Attachments remain "queued", meaning unavailable, for hours or days, leaving your question unanswered as it drops lower in the order of most recent post. Better to use the Camera icon to attach an image or to post the file online elsewhere and insert a link.

But I would guess that your Document Color Mode (File menu) is CMYK. If so, use CMYK in the Color panel, not RGB.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 11, 2009 1:54 PM   in reply to monto5

Attachement was realeased.