Skip navigation
Lebowski1213
Currently Being Moderated

How do you enlarge thumbnails from one iframe into a large iframe??

Aug 12, 2009 5:29 AM

Hello,

This has been driving me nuts if anybody could help it would be extremley appreciated.

I am fairly new to web design and I would like to create an image gallery with thumbnails in a scrolling iframe that when clicked on open up in a larger iframe on the same page (to enlarge the image).  I am using dreamweaver CS4.  I have made html pages for the large images but cant figure out how to link them to the thumbnails in order for them to open in the large iframe.  The scrolling iframe is currently linked to an html page containing all the thumbnail images.  Ideally I would like to learn how to do this in html code as opposed to extensions but as I am a novice I will need it spelled out idiot proof!!  Below is an image of what i am trying to achieve (thumbnails are in a scrolling iframe and below is the larger iframe).  Also can this same set up be re-created with video content (when you click on a thumbnail in a scrolling iframe it opens up the video in a large iframe)

Please help me!!!! Many thanks in advance!

Site Image.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 12, 2009 5:51 AM   in reply to Lebowski1213

Instead of an iframe, why not use the show/hide behaviour.

Create an absolutely positioned div just below the thumbnails to the size of the largest image you may have to accomodate.  You place your larger images inside this div.  When you click or mouseover a thumbnail, the larger image would be revealed.

More about this here:

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/Dreamweaver/10.0_Using/WSc78c5058ca073340d cda9110b1f693f21-7af6a.html

|
    Mark as:
    Feb 4, 2013 5:28 AM   in reply to Nadia-P