Skip navigation
AI_in-training
Currently Being Moderated

Extract font from an image

Aug 18, 2009 10:15 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to AI and am trying to edit a PDF file (which I'm gonna attach) created with AI. There's a text (NATURALLY RAISED CLOTHING) in this PDF (as part of the image) that I need to either edit or duplicate with the same font and size. I didn't think I could edit it so I tried to duplicate it and then edit it. My problem is that I can't find the right font. Is there some way to find out what font has been used? Also I want the new text to be as wide as the current one so is there any way to stretch or align text with other objects (on both sides)?

Thanks so much.

Kate

Attachments:

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 18, 2009 10:35 AM   in reply to AI_in-training

The text in your PDF seems to have been converted to outlines, already, so I'm not sure if there's an easy way to identify the font. You might try converting to jpg and using a font identifier such as http://new.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/. According to that method, your font is Avenir Black. The WhatTheFont forums there are a good resource for font identification, as well, if you can't get the font identifier to give you an accurate match.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 18, 2009 1:18 PM   in reply to AI_in-training

If you don't have the Avenir Black font, you will need to purchase it. Adobe has this font available for $29 at

http://store1.adobe.com/cfusion/store/html/index.cfm?store=OLS-US&even t=displayFont&code=AVEQ10095000

The reason that your letters look the way they do in your example is because they have a 1-pt stroke applied to them. You need to adjust your fill and stroke colors for your text. If you want the text to be gray, then your fill color should be gray and you should turn off your stroke (set it to transparent/no-stroke). Currently, you have the fill set to black and the stroke set to gray. I've attached a couple of screencaps to help you out.

Attachments:

|