Skip navigation
bennnh
Currently Being Moderated

Font Different in InDesign & Pages

Sep 28, 2009 3:13 PM

Hello.  I'm new to InDesign and this forum, but I'm having a problem and thought somebody might be able to help.

The problem is with a book I've laid out and am in the process of printing in InDesign CS4 (for Mac)...The typeface (Baskerville) looks different in InDesign than it does in Apple Pages or MS Word.  I'm using the same typeface at the same size.  Neither is bold or italic.  The difference, which is much more pronounced on the printed page than onscreen, seems to be mostly in the thickness of the letters.  In Pages and Word, most of the lines are thin and there's a large contrast between thin and thick lines.  In InDesign, the thin lines seem thickened and there's less contrast, as if the text were semibold.

This is disappointing, because I greatly prefer the way the text looks in Pages and Word.

Is this an issue that anybody else has come across?

Thanks for the help,

Ben

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 28, 2009 3:18 PM   in reply to bennnh

Are you using transparency, blending modes, or effects on the pages in ID? There are known issues with text getting "bolder" on screen, and in PDFs and with low resolution (desktop) printers.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 28, 2009 3:50 PM   in reply to bennnh

It isn't always obvious to the unitiated what constitutes transparency. Images with transparent backgrounds, drop shadows,...

In the pages panel flyout menu choose panel options and make sure the box for the transparency icon is checked. If a page has transparency, you'll see a little checkerboard next to the page thumbnail in the panel.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 28, 2009 4:10 PM   in reply to Peter Spier