Skip navigation
longstorey
Currently Being Moderated

Pixelated blurred video in PREmElem8

Oct 31, 2009 8:11 AM

I am new to preelm8 but have used videstudio9 for some time

I bring into a new PRE project a video clip from a canon legria fs21 (24 bits 720x576 16:9 25Frames/sec mpeg-2 video upper field first, file fomat PAL DVD), i set the project preset to Hard disk flash memory camcorder, widescreen 48kHz, widescreen PAL video (16:9 interlaced), DVD PAL, 25fps, 720hx576v UFF etc. This should be the correct preset for the files from the FS21, am I correct ?.

I then drop the video clip onto the timeline and play it in the monitor panel, it is blurred and pixelated and you can see this especially on the edges of anything that is moving, really quite poor. Interestingly if I play exactly the same clip from the ORGANIZE by just double clicking on it the video quality is very good why is there a difference?

Back in the EDITER i right click the monitor panel and change magnification to 100% it is terrible so i just put it back to FIT, saw some comments about his on the forum. I hit return to render it, this makes no difference (in fact it doesn't render, no red bar going to a greeen bar) and surely it shouldn't, if my project settings exactly match the clip then there is no need to render if I have done nothing except drop the raw clip onto the timeline am I correct in this assumption ? this is true in videstudio9 for these mpeg clips, even when you burn to DVD it only renders menus, if the clips are unaltered from their raw state on the time line they don't need to be rendered

If i follow the same process in videostudio 9 and play the clip in the editor the quality is fine !, Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong