Skip navigation
newtoedit
Currently Being Moderated

Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8

Nov 16, 2009 6:23 PM

Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8

Hello there, I’m new to this so bare with me.
I took video with my Canon Powershot SD550. The video is shot in NTSC 640 x 480. I want to rotate the video 90 degrees.

So I go into Premiere Elements, add the video and select rotate 90degs under motion. The video rotates as expected. The issue is the video is now taller in the vertical respect then the black window (I don’t know what this is called) behind the video and when I export the video it is essentially cropped on the top and bottom.

So I tried to scale the rotated video down to fit the black window, export it, but the quality of the video is now shot.

Is there anyway to rotate the video and keep the quality without it being cropped?
If you need more info please let me know.

Thank You.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 16, 2009 7:53 PM   in reply to newtoedit

Unfortunately, you have done what needs to be done, and once you Scale the footage, effectively Cropping part of it, but filling the frame. As you note, the quality does suffer. As Video is horizontal, the lesson is to always shoot with the still camera in the horizontal position.

It is far easier to Rotate 180 degrees, than it is to Rotate 90 degrees, because of the Aspect Ratio issue.

Sorry to bear the bad news.

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 16, 2009 8:25 PM   in reply to newtoedit
    you cannot set a custom frame size for video?  You more or less have to make the video fit the frame, which is defined when setting up the project?