Skip navigation
jw80
Currently Being Moderated

Print to file JPEG looks washed out

Dec 20, 2009 10:28 PM

Hello,

I recently exported a JPEG from the print module for the first time so I could get it printed at a photo lab. I was surprised to see that the file looked rather washed out/less saturated than the original did in Lightroom. I have a lot of experience exporting to the web and I'm aware about color spaces and how sRGB is often better for the web and photo lab printing. As far as I can tell my print to file settings are accurate.

My best guess is that the rendering intent option changes the color of the jpeg somewhat? I left the option set to Perceptual. Can the rendering intent option cause colors to look less saturated in a print to file JPEG? If that is the case, then I assume that the photo lab should compensate for this when I go to get it printed?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 22, 2009 12:38 PM   in reply to jw80

There is no perceptual intent in sRGB, so whatever you select the output will be the same.

If your export looks different from the original in Lightroom, either or both of the following is a problem: 1. You are not correctly calibrating your screen. The screen needs to be calibrated using calibration hardware. And/or 2:You are looking at the exported image in a non-color managed apps. Only color managed applications can show you the correct color.

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 22, 2009 3:58 PM   in reply to jw80