Skip navigation
keralesh11
Currently Being Moderated

how to merge two photos

Dec 25, 2009 11:05 AM

I am new to photoshop cs4 extended, I previously had elements 6. I have two photos of dogs and want to merge them into one. How can I do that and keep the proportion of the dogs proper even though the photos are not proportionate? One photo closer up than other, but when I merge I want dog sizes to be proportionate. Can this be done, and if so, how? I really appreciate all your help, you have been wonderful. Thanks.t

Attachments:

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 25, 2009 1:54 PM   in reply to keralesh11

What you want to look into is Panorama Tools

|
    Mark as:
    Dec 25, 2009 2:09 PM   in reply to keralesh11

if you mean like the photo below it is done by

copying the photo of the dog on the left to the image of the dog on the right.

then selecting the layer with the dog on the left and giving it a transparency of 50% in the layers panel (so you can see what you are doing.)

then using the free transform tool and using the corner anchor points and holding the shift key while scaling the image until they look right to you.

then you either use the eraser tool to carefully erase the unwanted background on the top layer with the dog on the left (btw you have to reposition the dog on the left to actually be on the left after you scale the dog,) or you use the pen tool to create a ath defining the dogs outline and turn that into a selection and hit delete to remove the background.

the above requires skill and a little patience.

then you position the dog on the left, if you want you can place it on the right.

then once you are happy with the scale  and position and removal of the background you can adjust the color and tonal quality using the Curves and
    or Hue Saturation adjustments and perhaps the dodge and burn tools as well.