Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Premiere Elements 4/Photoshop elements 7 - grayed out menu

Mar 17, 2010 10:32 AM

I am a total newbie with no artistic skills at all.  I am just trying to create a DVD using ONE clip.

I want to create a still shot from the clip to use as a menu background.

According to the Premiere Elements 4 help screen I should just have to click on the camera and then have the OPTION to edit the image in Photoshop Elements.  For my setup this option is grayed out.  All I can do is save the image as a .bmp (bitmap).

Can someone tell me why this is?  Did I do something wrong in setup?

Is there a good book for PE ver 4?

thanks

Mark

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 17, 2010 11:01 AM   in reply to Mark30Croton

Usually Premiere Elements and Photoshop Elements communicate best with each other when they're a matched set.

Premiere Elements 4 goes with Photoshop Elements 6.

Premiere Elements 7 goes with Photoshop Elements 7, and Premiere Elements 8 goes with Photoshop Elements 8.

However, sometimes they can find each other for basic editing. Try reinstalling Premiere Elements 4 now that Photoshop Elements 7 is on your machine so that it can find it.

As for books, version 4 comes right between our version 2 book (Premiere Elements 2 in a Snap) and my "Muvipix.com Guide to Adobe Premiere Elements 7". But version 4 and version 7 are close enough that the version 7 book (which is virtually the only book for either version, other than Adobe's Classroom in a Book series). It's available on Amazon.com.

You may also benefit from my free Basic Training tutorials at Muvipix.com, a great site for learning the program and finding support for it.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 18, 2010 11:12 AM   in reply to Steve Grisetti

I suspect that there would be a way to accomplish this objective with PE 4 and PSE 7 even thought it might not be as direct as it would be with PE 7 and PSE 7.