Skip navigation
gloam
Currently Being Moderated

Leaving Buzzword / Acrobat.com for Evernote

Jun 13, 2010 4:59 PM

As a member of the Buzzword community for a couple years, I wanted to post the latest update in my quest for truly satisfying cloud based document system.

I have been using Buzzword for over two years having fallen in love with the beautiful interface, the simplicity (lack of extraneous fluff) and the simple approach to sharing.  I have tried to find a way to use Buzzword with my team at work for working on technical documentation and project docs, but have been unable to do so because of two glaring omissions in the application: 1) Styles (which even the in-browser editor provided by this forum supports as I type this post) and 2) images in the header / footer of a doc (my company puts it's logo in document headers).

Despite not being able to use Buzzword for work, I have used it personally for jotting down ideas, outlining documentation for my own projects, and any other documents I wanted to access from any computer.  I have waited patiently (and sometimes not so patiently) for the Buzzword product to be upgraded and move forward so that it would be easier to use on my phone, have better searchability, offline syncing, etc.

This weekend, I decided not to keep waiting.

I've also been an Evernote Premium user for about a year.  Let's compare observations about the two products:

1) Adobe is a large, established and profitable company with lots of resources.  Evernote is a small startup.  Adobe probably has littlle priority placed on making their online apps great, Evernote will live or die by the greatness of their one app.  Buzzword has seen no significant updates in the last year.  Evernote has seen 4 - 5.  When it comes to advancing and enhancing their product, I'm placing my bet on Evernote over Buzzword.