Skip navigation
tangogal
Currently Being Moderated

32 vs 64 bit mode

Aug 10, 2010 4:53 PM

I am a beginner in PhotoShop so please excuse my asking this dumb question. What are the advantages/disadvantages of running CS5 in 64 vs. 32 bit mode? I am aware that certain plug-ins won't work in 64-bit mode. Is 64 faster? Is it better to edit photos in 64 bit mode?

I'm also confused about whether to set Photoshop/Bridge to 8-bit or 16-bit. I'm told that you get very big files with 16 bit but that you can't use all your filters unless you convert to 8 bit.

Please keep your answers simple, if possible. I don't know a lot of techie stuff. I am just learning.

Thank you.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 10, 2010 5:20 PM   in reply to tangogal

If you have 4 GB RAM or less there is no advantage to 64 bit. If you have more than 4 GB RAM 64-bit is able to address more RAM.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 11, 2010 12:16 AM   in reply to tangogal
    I'm also confused about whether to set Photoshop/Bridge to 8-bit or 16-bit. I'm told that you get very big files with 16 bit but that you can't use all your filters unless you convert to 8 bit.

True, but do you actually need those Filters?

Editing images in 16 bit has the advantage that more extreme edits will less obviously damage the image quality because more color-values are available.

Photoshop has to calculate the results of every Adjustment Layer and Layer Blend one at a time and the ones further up are then applied on the resulting underlying pixels’ values … this necessitates rounding to the available steps of which there are more in 16 bit, so the rounding-effect doesn’t accumulate as steeply.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 11, 2010 6:50 AM   in reply to tangogal

Anyone know when/of the 32 bit plug-ins that doesn't work when running Photoshop in 64 bit mode will be updated to work in 64 bit?

Plug-ins not supported by Photoshop CS5 on Mac OS, running in 64-bit mode:

• Lighting Effects