Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Spry menu problems with Internet explorer

Jul 30, 2007 6:33 AM

Hi everyone

I'm having ongoing problems with my horizontal menus and internet explorer. They work fine in other browsers and with the generous help of others at these forums I've managed to sort out most of the problems. But I've hit a real wall with this one. The menus drop down showing the links OK but you cannot highlight or click on the options that drop down, they just appear as text. Any help would be appretiated. My appologies for posting in other threads also but just hoping for a response.

I am very new to this side of design so simple answers would be very helpful. Thanks

Bob

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 30, 2007 6:49 AM   in reply to Bob Haslett
    Hi Bob,

please send us a link where you can reproduce your problem to see what's wrong with the menu bar. It is quite hard to guess what is not working without see exactly the wrong behavior. Also which IE version do you use ? IE 6 or IE 7?

Thanks,
    Diana

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 30, 2007 9:56 AM   in reply to Bob Haslett
    Hi Bob,

There are a couple of problems with the tweaks you did to the menu bar CSS. If you fix those things will work fine.

- In CSS you must specify your units. In this rule you added:

ul.MenuBarHorizontal
    {
    width: 800;
    }

You need to make that 800px, or whatever unit it is you want to use.

- For this rule:

ul.MenuBarHorizontal li {
    position: top;
    }

"top" is not a valid value for the position property, so I would leave it as the original value of position:relative.

- Looks like you changed the z-index value of this rule to 1010:

ul.MenuBarHorizontal ul
    {
    z-index: 1010;.
    }