Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Pixel Bender Notes

Sep 8, 2010 1:45 AM

Hello.

I've been using Pixel Bender for over a month now.

Implementing some Image Processing Algorithms into it (Advanced Sharpening, Blurring, NR etc...).

I have some notes regarding it to my special usage - Implementing Algorithms for Photoshop / After Effects.

I'm not a programmer so I thought this would be the right tool for me, just taking care of the Algorithm.

I don't have a deep knowledge of what is possible using GPU's and what's not, All written here is in the spirit of the limitations you made clear in the PDF's of PB. Anyhow, Looking on the supported GPU's by you it seems you support pretty old GPU's. Since it's an experimental project for now and the big changes GPU had in the last 2 years you might want to reconsider dropping support for anything below DX10 to give PB all the features and flexibility it should have.

The Notes:

1. Hidden Codes - I know it is possible (Oil Painting Plug In). This should be a first priority. If I got is write, PB Kernels for Flash are compiled into some kind of a binary form. Let's use that, Let the Photoshop / AE Plug In read those files.

2. CPU Precomputing - There are some computations which suit the CPU much better than the GPU. Could the "Calculate Dependencies" concept be expanded? Let's say compute some (Small) data which later be used by Pixel Bender. A simple case would be Face Recognition. Let's say I could create a Gray Mask (Faces would be brighter grays the rest black...) on the CPU and then this mask would be passed as a source image to pixel bender. The CPU procedure could be created using AS3 or something. I know it is easy to do in Flash, yet what about Photoshop / After Effects?