Skip navigation
CyJobes
Currently Being Moderated

Opening in code view in CS5

Sep 30, 2010 6:10 AM

A while back I posted a discussion seeking information about having PHP files open in code view instead of design view. (CS4).

I found out that I was able to tell PHP files to open in code view, but for some reason the creators of DW saw it fit to fix it so that if you force files to open in code view, then you could not switch to design view by any means.

As a PHP coder I rearely go into design or split/design view, but I do have an occaisional need to do so.

My question is, has this been fixed in CS5? In other words, can I have my PHP files set to ALWAYS open in code view, but still have the option to simply click on the design/split button and go into design mode?

Thanks,

Cy

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 30, 2010 8:21 AM   in reply to CyJobes

Hi Cy,

You had me curious ... so I had to test it.

Happy to report that if you have DW in Coder or Coder Plus layouts, the files do indeed open up in code view and very nicely switch back and forth between all view modes.

Brad Lawryk

Adobe Community Professional: Dreamweaver

Northern British Columbia Adobe Usergroup: Manager

Thompson Rivers University: Dreamweaver Instructor

My Adobe Blog: http://blog.lawryk.com

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 30, 2010 9:26 AM   in reply to CyJobes

Code view and code hinting as greatly improved in CS5. If you do the majority of your work in code view ... you will love it.

Brad Lawryk

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 12, 2010 7:21 AM   in reply to CyJobes

If you select 'Coder' view from the layout options it will always open in code view. Just change the View won't do anything - you have to change the layout options.

layoutchanger.jpg

Brad Lawryk

|
    Mark as:
    Oct 13, 2010 8:01 AM   in reply to CyJobes

CyJobes wrote: