Skip navigation
smashkirk
Currently Being Moderated

GREP advice

Jan 11, 2011 8:42 AM

I'm completely new to GREP. I will try to learn it over time, but for now I wonder if someone could give me a hand.

I have many paragraphs like this:

5/28/11 (Sat)  Duke’s Epic 8 Hour Series, Opus Spring Relay. A fun filled day for the whole family! Mansfield Outdoor Centre, Mansfield, ON. www.chicoracing.com

6/04/11 (Sat) - 6/05/11 (Sun)  Trek Store Canada Cup/Ontario Cup. Canada’s longest running and largest National MTB event. Ontario Cup, Canada Cup, and UCI Cross Country event. See the pros and race for fun! Hardwood Ski and Bike, Barrie, ON. www.trekstorecanadacup.ca

Basically I want to apply a style to the dates which are on the first line of each paragraph. So, the pseudo code would be something like: select all characters from the start of each paragraph to the last instance of ")", and apply a style.

I want to apply a character style to make the dates bold such as this:

5/28/11 (Sat)  Duke’s Epic 8 Hour Series, Opus Spring Relay. A fun filled day for the whole family! Mansfield Outdoor Centre, Mansfield, ON. www.chicoracing.com

6/04/11 (Sat) - 6/05/11 (Sun)  Trek Store Canada Cup/Ontario Cup. Canada’s longest running and largest National MTB event. Ontario Cup, Canada Cup, and UCI Cross Country event. See the pros and race for fun! Hardwood Ski and Bike, Barrie, ON. www.trekstorecanadacup.ca

Thanks!

Ak

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 11, 2011 10:06 AM   in reply to smashkirk

Warning! I'm not an expert in GREP -- other guys on this forum may suggest a better solution.

Find what:

(\d{1,2}/\d{1,2}/\d{1,2}\s\((Sun|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thu|Fri|Sat)\))(\s-\s\d{1,2}/\d{1,2}/\d{1,2}\s\((Sun|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thu|Fri|Sat)\))?

Change Format: + Bold

P.S. If you are going to use this in script, you have to escape backslashes:

"(\\d{1,2}/\\d{1,2}/\\d{1,2}\\s\\((Sun|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thu|Fri|Sat)\\))(\\s-\\s\\d{1,2}/\\d{1,2}/\\d{1,2}\\s\\((Sun|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thu|Fri|Sat)\\))?"