Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

What is a Pantone process color?

Mar 25, 2011 2:31 PM

Hi,

Hope you're doing well.

I am just starting to learn about colors and printing.

I have a job I am working on where the printer requires the Pantone colors. The person who originally created the file kept them as CMYK.

I have been converting them to Pantones by using the Edit/Edit Colors/re-color artwork feature where you then choose a Pantone library and Illustrator converts it to a Pantone.

However, with one color conversion, it didn't give me a number, it gave me "Pantone Process Yellow C." Does that mean it is still CMYK?

Thanks!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 25, 2011 2:51 PM   in reply to graph22

Pantone spot colours are formulas for mixing Pantone inks to achieve a specific colour. There are only a few base inks in the library; the rest are created using a recipe that mixes specific ratios of the base inks. Pantone Process Yellow is one of the base inks. It is a spot colour.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 25, 2011 2:54 PM   in reply to graph22

graph,

However, with one color conversion, it didn't give me a number, it gave
    me "Pantone Process Yellow C." Does that mean it is still CMYK?

It is/corresponds to the Y of CMYK.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 25, 2011 7:15 PM   in reply to graph22

graph22 wrote:

Ok. So it is NOT a Pantone?

No, it is a Pantone. The “Pantone” in the name is a dead giveaway.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 25, 2011 7:55 PM   in reply to graph22

Your concern should be maintaining what the print vendor is requesting.  They are asking for Pantone spot colors for a reason.  As soon as you convert to process, it will be immediately more difficult to match the color on press.  Pantone spot colors gives the press person some flexibility in maintaining consistency, especially when you are talking about branded corporate identity type materials ( i.e., stationery, business cards, packaging, etc. ).