Skip navigation
adamss14
Currently Being Moderated

Spawn page, PDF template in Adobe X

Apr 13, 2011 10:28 AM

Hi all, I am working on a PDF form where the user needs to be able to add more pages if they still have info to enter.  After researching this a bit, it seems the best way to go is to define the page as a PDF template, then copy that template to a new page when the user presses a button (using javascript). I am not a programmer at all, but I found this forum post: http://acrobatusers.com/forum/javascript/duplicate-current-page-5-time s

That gave me some code to work with, but the code doesn't work for me, even with the corrections and taking out the comments.  Any advice on how I can do this?? Thanks to anyone who responds.  Here is the code I am currently working with:

function CopyPage(nPageNum, nTimes) {

// create template from pagevar

t = this.createTemplate({cName:"myTemplate", nPage: nPageNum });

// hide

templatet.hidden = true;

// spawn nTimes pages from templatevar

t = this.templates;

var T = t[0];

// get first templage

for (var i =0; i < nTimes; i++)  {

T.spawn({nPage: this.numPages, bRename: false, bOverlay: false });

}

// remove the template

this.removeTemplate({cName: 'myTemplate'});

return;

} // end CopyPage function 

// code to call CopyPage functionCopyPage(5, 1);

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 13, 2011 10:40 AM   in reply to adamss14

Where are yo running this code from, and what happens exactly? Are there any

error message in the console?

|
    Mark as:
  • George Johnson
    11,726 posts
    Aug 11, 2002
    Apr 13, 2011 12:07 PM   in reply to adamss14

You cannot use the createTemplate method in a script that's attached to a button. You would have to create a folder level script, or better yet, make the page a template at design time so you don't need to do so at run time. If you know in advance that you want to possible create a new page, this is what you should do.