Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Best Mac Pro Configuration for LR?

May 1, 2011 11:37 AM

For various reasons I'm planning on migrating from my home desktop pc ( 4 year old core2 2.4 ghz xp pro sp 3 32bit accessing 2.93 out of 4 gb ram) to a new or (lightly used recent) Mac Pro desktop.  The Mac Pro is available in a lot of different configurations and I would appreciate advice on how many cores and how much ram I actually need to comfortably run LR3x and its eventual upgrades (within reason) and PS3 for now and later probably whatever is current.  I'm a reasonably advanced amateur photographer; I shoot what interests me and now use LR for 90-95% of my post processing of my raw Leica and Canon image files. I do use some add-ons (SilverEfex Pro2 and such).

I understand from reading some articles that too much muscle in the Mac Pro can actually slow down LR, so if this is true I'd like to stay svelte; also economic issues are somewhat a concern.

I have already considered a laptop or an iMac and decided the Mac Pro is what I want.  The question is just 'what will work best for me'?

Thanks in advance, and if you need more information just let me know.

--Bob

p.s.  Is the Search Function disabled in this Forum?  I couldn't get it to work.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 1, 2011 2:58 PM   in reply to rdbaron

rdbaron wrote: