Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

HD to SD, My Video Looks Like Crap!

May 26, 2011 2:54 AM

Hello all!

So yes, I am a newbie when it comes to DVD Authoring but I need to get my feet wet with it. After looking at a basic tutorial I took a stab. Threw up a template, linked the main movie to a button and set it to return to menu when it was done. The footage was from a Canon T2i (or 550D as it is known as well) at 1920 x1080 and I wanted to burn standard DVDs. Well, it worked, but the quality was not so good. It's just under 26 minutes long, the quality is very so-so, not at all crisp, and really my real test is to see how the text looks. (Spoiler: Not with smooth lines!)

So, what can I do to make my video have a high quality? I exported an MP4 h264 video as the final output and used that to make the DVD. I did 2 versions, playing with the settings and still ended up with less than stellar quality.

I am now attempting a third disc, this time using Adobe Dynamic Link. I am pretty sure I left it at default and didn't change any settings, so we shall see how it comes out, but is there any rule of thumb getting DSLR HD footage down to SD? I have been reading the forums and that's where I got the dynamic link idea.

What's interesting is I used the program ConvertXtoDVD and came out with a nice looking end product, but I did not care for the templates and did it with no menu. I would like to do it with Encore where I can learn to make more custom menus. Any help will be greatly appreciated, and I will report on how the Dynamic Link copy looks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 26, 2011 6:09 AM   in reply to literally_figurative

Here are the recommended workflows for creating DVD from AVCHD/HD (1080i) clips.

Workflow 1:

1. Create a AVCHD 1080i30 (60i) sequence in PR

2. Export to MPEG-2 DVD using "Match Source Attributes (High Quality)" preset and make sure that "Use Maximum Render Quality" is checked in Export Settings.