Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

Tabbing Order

Level 2

My company has a new system coming out next week and we had to make about 30 new forms for the system implementation.  This was a huge project and I have been working on the forms for over 2 years.  It came down to finalize them and I had massive issues with the tabbing order.  I worked over 50 hours last week trying to get the tabbing order perfect on this forms.

Why is it that the system fights you when you attempt to set the tabbing order?  Why is it that you can go in and change one single thing and the entire tabbing order for a multi-page form get entirely off?  We does Designer sometimes randomly scramble the tabbing order so that it doesnt make a bit of sense?  Why does the tabbing order sometimes skip pages even though you have the tabbing order perfect.

Some of these forms were designed 2 years ago and have underwent several layers of revisions.  Could it be that the XML coding in the forms is jacked up from all the revisions that it is causing these issues?  Should I have rebuilt the forms after they were finalized to make the process go more smoothly?

The tabbing order debacle is so bad that some of my superiors want me to stop using Designer and find something else.  I have been using Designer for a long time and do not want to to that but I need to find away to make this process smoother so next time a 50 million dollar project is on the line, my forms arent holding it up.

9 Replies

Level 4

What version of Designer are you using? I know versions 7 and 8 were tabbing nightmares but 9.0 is a dream. They seemed to have paid attention to all the griping we did in the past versions.

Level 2

9.0.0.2. is the version I am using right now.  It did get better with previous versions but it still seems to have a lot of bugs and it wants to fight you every step of the way.

Level 10

Hi,