Skip navigation
Thunder_man1234
Currently Being Moderated

How to hide a face or other details in clip

Jul 2, 2011 8:52 AM

I am totally new to video editing and have a project that involves bait property for crime prevention. I need to hide the faces of suspects in video clips and some text information from the surviellance cameras.

Could anyone point me to instructions on how to do this? What is the industry term for this function. (I have the full Adobe CS5.5 software)

http://www.operationhandsoff.com/en/bait_video.php

This is an example of what I am looking for. I use Lynda.com for some training and would appreciate suggestions on terms to look up.

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 2, 2011 9:12 AM   in reply to Thunder_man1234

Mosaic and blur in combination with mattes.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 2, 2011 9:53 AM   in reply to Thunder_man1234

I cannot think of an "industry term" for what you want, but in general, it's hiding identity, or obscuring license plates, etc.

As Harm mentions, the use of Mosaic and/or Blur, limited to just the area that you wish to affect by Track Matte Keying, will get you exactly what you want. Once you decide on how much to obscure the faces, you will then Keyframe the Fixed Effect>Motion>Position (and maybe some Motion>Scale) on the Track Matte.

In general, one would place their footage onto Video Track 1, Duplicate that onto VT 2, where the Blur, Mosaic, or similar, or a combo of them, Effect(s) would be added. Then, one would create a Track Matte (could be an elipse in Titler, or more intricate Matte in PS), locating that onto VT 3, and then apply Track Matte Keying to that Duplicate Clip in VT2, linking it to the Track Matte in VT3. As the subject moves, one would animate the Track Matte to follow.

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 2, 2011 9:58 AM   in reply to Bill Hunt

Here's a quck TUTORIAL on using Track Matte Keying, from CS4.

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as: