I believe these two Web Design threads have contents that are a bit beyond the purpose of these forums:
http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1027614?tstart=0
SEO Spammer, or just someone trying to drive traffic to his site:
http://forums.adobe.com/people/find%20someone%20for%20free
He even kind of botched the joke he added to the joke thread in an attempt to be 5% legitimate.
-Noel
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/itechscripts>
He is using old posts to pedal his spam messages.
Message was edited by: Pat Willener - spam messages are posted from 115.108.129.211
Here's a new one: This one's been adding "helpful video tutorial" links to his site to a bunch of Photoshop Community Help pages!
http://forums.adobe.com/people/chrisjohnsskills
I admit, the idea is creative, but somehow I don't think Adobe intended the feedback system to be a spammer's foot in the door.
-Noel
I think that user (carrlly) was just responding to the email notification messages s/he received. I don't think there was any evil intent.
This looks like a potential spammer testing out an automated spamming script... Or it could just be someone trying to understand the forum.
I don't think I'd delete the user just yet, but the first post can probably go.
http://forums.adobe.com/people/nitkai
-Noel
Peddling his web site in what's probably an attempt to do SEO:
http://forums.adobe.com/people/RyanRon
Please nail this spammer.
-Noel
Message was edited by: Pat Willener - 1 spam post from 122.168.209.14 removed.
Is this a spam:
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/jackphillip2002>
His only message so far and a link to his drugs site!!!
Message was edited by: Pat Willener - spam message [from 27.32.224.230] deleted.
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/giddygail>
This Guy/Gal is posting blank messages all over the place. In General Forums there are about 10 blank messages and now I have seen one in Photoshop elements Forums:
mytaxsite.co.uk wrote:
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/giddygail>
This Guy/Gal is posting blank messages all over the place.
This person just wants to get off the forum notifications.
Reported before: http://forums.adobe.com/people/chrisjohnsskills
This guy seems to post the link to his / his company's web site an awful lot. When you evaluated my report for post 413 above, did you find him to be just helpful enough not to be considered spamming?
-Noel
What ChrisJohnsSkills has posted in the last few days is not spam. Yes, he's usually pointing to his company for more information, but anyone on the forums is welcome to link to any outside resource that's useful and relevant, whether or not they work for the company.
Also, this particular company (Infinite Skills) is a training partner of Adobe's, so I have some confidence in the value of its training materials.
Thanks, Terri. I'm pretty sensitive to folks just here to try to drag people to their own web site, and I've never been quite sure of how much of that is allowed.
Just as an example, sometimes folks ask how to make the kinds of effects my own commercial software makes, and I've avoided providing links on the general principle that I don't want to be a spammer. ![]()
-Noel
I understand your reticence. It can be a fine line, especially if there's already a way in, say, Photoshop that can make the effects people want to create. But it's perfectly acceptable to say something like, "Here's how to do it in Photoshop: [insert long-winded explanation]. If you don't want to go through all those steps, you can accomplish the same thing more quickly with software like [insert your app here]. Full disclosure: I make and sell that app."
What about this one:
http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1053252?tstart=0
I mean, even being the OP's own (and very first) thread, what's the purpose of posting those off-topic links?
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific