But a link like http://forums.adobe.com/people/morine1 would be easier...
Just getting started: http://forums.adobe.com/people/sportdreams04
Heh, here's a new one - a Spam Magnet thread! I'm not kidding! One poster even thinks I "sugessed" he add his spam to it and thanked me.
http://forums.adobe.com/message/3862996?tstart=0#3862996
I think several of the posts are nothing but spam, and (given input by Marian) it's even possible the original post is spam as well, though it was hidden in plain sight with a reasonably appropriate question.
-Noel
http://forums.adobe.com/people/LCHDesign
There's a spammy link in the signature of every post.
6 posts are credited to this person but only 3 appear in the profile so it looks like someone has already removed a few spammy posts.
http://forums.adobe.com/people/GandalfWM
Spamming the Reader forums with this message;
Please do NOT send me any more e-mail.
This guy posts useless links of his sites.
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/komissarenko>
In one posts in reply to Noel Carboni, he posted a link to his dating agency. See photoshop forum.
Self promotional links to commercial sites (both in the same thread):
Find a sugar baby at his link:
<http://forums.adobe.com/people/vklein>
The question is simply a means to by-pass the spam links.
And another: http://forums.adobe.com/people/mgq123
One and only (so far) message is a long spam
http://forums.adobe.com/people/mgq123In the Feedback forum selling clothes. http://forums.adobe.com/thread/893739?tstart=0
This post in itself does not look like spam, but it is just not correct either:
http://forums.adobe.com/message/3877333#3877333
http://forums.adobe.com/people/FreshGraphics2011
Thanks,
Niall
Is a member a spammer if he posts links to a free software solution that solves a problem identified in threads?
Thing is, he's done this for every old thread he could find in the archives...
http://forums.adobe.com/people/alfie69
I can't help but get the feeling there's some kind of ulterior motive here... Maybe he's the author and he's going to offer a paid upgrade at some point?
-Noel
Noel Carboni wrote:
...I can't help but get the feeling there's some kind of ulterior motive here... Maybe he's the author and he's going to offer a paid upgrade at some point?
One does not typically host a free, GPL, open source project on code.google.com with ulterior motives.
XNView is a well-established program and this Explorer thumbnail program which uses the same graphic library appears to be fine. That graphic library is free for non-commercial projects like this thumbnail viewer.
Believe it or not, some people offer things out of the goodness of their heart. ![]()
Marian Driscoll wrote:
Noel Carboni wrote:
...I can't help but get the feeling there's some kind of ulterior motive here... Maybe he's the author and he's going to offer a paid upgrade at some point?
One does not typically host a free, GPL, open source project on code.google.com with ulterior motives.
XNView is a well-established program and this Explorer thumbnail program which uses the same graphic library appears to be fine. That graphic library is free for non-commercial projects like this thumbnail viewer.
Believe it or not, some people offer things out of the goodness of their heart.
Posting on an active thread is helpful. Digging up a few might be considered very helpful.
All he's doing is posting a link.
Digging up all known old threads on the subject seems very aggressive, and one starts to wonder if there's motivation by something besides the desire to be helpful. Is this is an author who has plans to convert to donationware or find some way to monetize it in the future, or offer other things for sale on the site? I don't know, is there an advantage to search-engine-optimizing one's Google page ranking?
I don't know code.google.com from Adam. I use Google search, but try to stay away from most of the rest of Google. Google is the very definition of "ulterior motive" in my book.
-Noel
North America
Europe, Middle East and Africa
Asia Pacific