Skip navigation
New_to_Printing
Currently Being Moderated

Hello all...Print questions...Help appreciated...

Dec 2, 2011 5:18 AM

Tags: #printing #indesign. #printing_problem #printable

Thanks in advance for taking the time to view this...and for the help that many of you will offer.

I am fairly new to commercial printing and I tried to create a small quick-start guide for a product that I am trying to have manufactured in China.  I created the product guide in Word and saved it in PDF format.  The manufacturing company, located in China, did not like the PDF version that I sent.  I created it again, in Photoshop, saved it as a PDS and a PDF and still, they complained.   I don't really have a lot of fancy stuff...just a few instructions and a few screenshots.

Now, they are asking for it in AI format (which I assume is Adobe Illustrator).   What is the standard for submitting a document for a print job?

Are there any things that I should/could do to make my documents resizable/scaleable?   I know the basics as far as working with PDF docs, Photoshop, and inDesign (although I am trying to learn more, since I like what I see so far).  I never really did much with Adobe Illustrator, but if that is what works best for printing, I guess I better learn.

And...since I realize you all are pros at this...do you recommend a few sites/beginner's books or intro to printing guides, where I could learn about this stuff?

Thanks!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Dec 2, 2011 8:10 AM   in reply to New_to_Printing

NTP,

and a few screenshots.

This may be the reason for the complaints. Print requires much higher (final RIP) resolution than does screen viewing.

With vector artwork, as in AI = Illustrator, you are not limiting the print quality. That is probably why they are asking for AI, although the request is far from foolproof: you could just File>Place a 72PPI raster image and have a useless AI document.