Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

DPS subscriptions: Background Downloads working?

Jan 2, 2012 5:57 PM

Last week I subscribed to The New Yorker to test iTunes subscriptions, Adobe DPS and Newsstand.

The newest issue "January 9, 2012" appears in my newsstand, but without the red badge on the newsstand icon, no notification at all and not downladed.

when I tap the new cover in the newsstand rack, the New Yorker App just starts and displays the old issue I was reading before.

Is this the supposed behaviour?

I thought the newest issue will be downladed in the background (background downloads are activated in settings)

—Johannes

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 8, 2012 6:58 AM   in reply to Johannes Eckert

I have a subscription to the New Yorker, also. Newstand behavior is inconsistent -- sometimes it indicates a new edition is available, sometimes, not. Sometimes the latest edition has been downloaded in the background, most often not. Downloading can be painful -- zips along to the very end then hangs. I need to delete what I have, then start over.

I usually archive an edition after I've read it. I often get notifications that an updated version is available -- what does that mean????

That said, the iPad version of the New Yorker is really great. My printed copy rarely gets opened.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 9, 2012 12:38 AM   in reply to Johannes Eckert

Hi Johannes,

Was you device connected to WIFI when you expected the background download? Background download does not occur on 3G connections

With kind regards,

Klaasjan Tukker

Adobe Systems

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 9, 2012 1:00 AM   in reply to Klaasjan Tukker

I've just come on the forum to ask about dowmloading Wired and Project magazines. Pretty much since newsstand, downloading them has been very painful!