Skip navigation
TomBrikar
Currently Being Moderated

Adobe CS3 on Windows 7 says `installer database is corrupt....'

Jan 14, 2012 5:01 AM

Tags: #illustrator #cs3 #error #installation #windows7

Hi, I am new to this.

I have been using Illustrator CS3 for several years under WinXP, and have now upgraded the OS to WIN7.  I am failing to install, whatever I do it comes back with the following error message:

`The installer database is corrupt, if this continues .....'

I had onscreen chats with Adobe's  Vallen and (maybe) Sumar, who just sent me back to the Support page and forum page.  Digging there I eventually found http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/401/kb401531.html and followed the instructions, including deleting the caps folder because neither of the database files were in it.

There is a suggestion that I would get somewhere if I was disconnected from the internet.  I am wondering also if removal of Photoshop Elements 10 would get rid of a conflict (I have already stripped out most other Adobe programs).  I am pretty sure that before loading WIn7 I had been forced to uninstall CS3 for reasons of space, so I don't think ther should be an issue of serial nos.

Does anyone have experience of this?

Brian

AKA TomBrikar

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 15, 2012 2:20 AM   in reply to TomBrikar

It would be inconvenient to uninstall Photoshop Elements 10 because that is now fully integrated with the HP scanner,

I don't see any problem here. It's just using the standard TWAIN or WIA interfaces. There's no magic custom code in any of the Adobe apps regarding support for specific scanners, cameras or whatever. At worst you may lose color calibration and some presets.

Mylenium

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 15, 2012 2:24 AM   in reply to TomBrikar