• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help - Transfer ColdFusion site to new server?

New Here ,
Jan 16, 2012 Jan 16, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My friend has a coldfusion site with access database that needs to get transfered to a new server can anyone explain the process? Also do you actually need coldfusion locally on your computer to develop a website, or can it all be done online? I have never worked with ColdFusion before and need some advice.

TOPICS
Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jan 17, 2012 Jan 17, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's pretty simple, actually. A CF site is basically just a directory with a bunch of files, and a few settings within the CF server itself. First, you'll need to catalog these settings so you can create them on the new server. Then, copy the files from the old server to the new server, make any necessary adjustments if paths are different on the two servers, and you're all set.

It's possible for CF developers to write setup scripts that will actually take care of all this, but my assumption is that you don't have one of those for this application.

Finally, you don't need to have CF installed locally on your own computer. You don't need anything other than a text editor on your own computer, and a network connection to the CF server's filesystem. That said, it's much easier to develop CF sites with CF locally installed, as you can fiddle around with the server easier. The developer version of CF is free for just this purpose.

Dave Watts, CTO, Fig Leaf Software

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines