Skip navigation
Larry Lilac
Currently Being Moderated

Anyone else find that LR 4 web galleries are very slow to build?

Mar 9, 2012 10:50 AM

Using LR4 (not the Beta) processing JPEGS in the web gallery module seems to be taking about 5-TIMES as long as in LR 3 (or processing the same set of JPEGS to the same size and quality in Develop module in LR4).

Anyone else getting this problem?

I'm not a software engineer, but I would have thought that processing a large set of images using the same spec would be an excellent opportunity to utilise multi-core processors, and that doesn't seem to be happening on my system:

Mac Pro 2 X 2.66 Ghz - 20GB RAM - OS 10.6.8.

ATI Radeon HD 5870

Canon 5DII RAW files

Colin Thomas

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 9, 2012 11:37 AM   in reply to Larry Lilac

Will try it over the weekend. Will have to make a gallery of about 200 images for a client from the Kruger National Park, using the Client Response from Turning Gate. That will be an interesting test. Will time the process of exporting and report back

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 9, 2012 5:48 PM   in reply to hamish niven

My findings on a test with:

• Win7 64-Bit
    • Intel i7-980x
    • 24GB Memory
    • Fast disks
    • HTML gallery with 451 images
    • Vast majority is CR2's from Canon 5D MkII and 1Ds MkII (approx. 15-25MB each)
    • Detail image settings: 70% quality, 1024 px

WebGallery export took 87.5 minutes (approx. 5.2 images/minute or 11.5" per image).

I'll run the same test on LR3.6 tomorrow to compare.

Beat

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 9, 2012 9:19 PM   in reply to Larry Lilac

Larry Lilac wrote:

...processing a large set of images using the same spec would be an excellent opportunity to utilise multi-core processors, and that doesn't seem to be happening on my system...