Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

read/write xml data from/to adobe livecycle forms (pdf)

Mar 22, 2012 5:22 AM

Tags: #pdf #data #forms #xml #electronic

Hello,

I need some help reading xml data from pdfs created by Adobe LiveCycle and also writing xml data back to the form.

The forms have been created using PROD LC 8.2 and in the future they will be created using PROD LC 9.5.

I am using Visual Basic .NET to access the data programatically.

Can anyone help me with some hints? A library, SDK? Any information would be very helpful.

I am quite new with this Electronic Forms issue and I do not even know where to start.

Thank you,

Ionel

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 22, 2012 6:18 AM   in reply to djionel82

Hi lonel,

Do you want an online solution?

I mean, it follows this workflow:

1. The user will open the PDF by clicking a link, and a server-side program will generate the PDF and prepopulate it with data from some data sources, and render the PDF to the client (Browser),

2. The user will fill the PDF.

3. The user will click a Submit button and save the PDF and Data on the server.

4. If the user wants to edit the Submitted Form, he will click a link to open the save PDF and possibly prepopulate some fields with data from other data sources, and complete the cycle of filling and saved the PDF and Data on the server.

5. While the user is filling the PDF (inside a Browser), there might be a need to perform some lookup on the server, and update the form parts accordingly as a result of the lookup process.

For 1-4 above, I have developed a complete base library using ASP.NET which helps you to perform the above.

You can goto my Google Workspace and you will find a bunch of documents, sample PDFs, collections and VB Classes. To best view them, login using some Google Account.